Thinking Thoughts

thought after thought
burns a hole in my mind
though their well traveled roads
are no friends of my soul
my mind is neatly undone
by possibilities gone wrong
so that every thought i think
leaves me tired and denied
the peace
my heart so desperately craves
and knows is rightfully mine
as daughter of the Most High God
a child of Him Divine

 

one breath
i praise Creator God
who speaks nothingness
into life
and
all is lovely
right and sure
at rest in His design
alive in rightness
rich with new
in the spaces
given
me
near
the waters
where
i
abide

 

then

 

i take

 

one breath again

 

and light
no longer shines

 

darkness comes
my soul forgets
and truth
lies set aside
His life breath
seems to find
another
one
no longer
steady
in the swirling
restless
rivers
of my
God-forgetting
mind

 

it’s there i wallow
stuck between
thoughts
gone wrong
and thoughts
gone stale
and thoughts
i won’t let rise
above
the
mundane
grit and grime
of
necessary
earthbound
daily
living

 

and i rightly sense
the presence
of the lies
of one
who never
ruled divine
but spends his air
suffocating mine
and laughing
that i lose
again
my God centered
hope filled
trust anchored
sure footed
eyes

 

and so i pray
for strength to climb
up out of deep
and undivine
chasms
of broken heart lines
that steal and threaten
and destroy
and aim to dwell
in the home
that was meant
for the One
who knows more of me
than even
i could tell

 

and then one step
toward His grace
becomes
His brilliance
pulling me up
and through the quiet
in the still
i hear sweet whispers
and unmuted words
of love
and sacred joy
come again
to sweet sweet rest
in the pastures
of my soul-mind
and i embrace
with joy
and glad smiling eyes
the life
He speaks
as
always
ever
mine

One thought on “Thinking Thoughts

Leave a comment